
| |
Research Databases
Magazine indexes, articles and more!
Select a database by Subject or by Title
OR
Use this tool to search some or all of the Ohio Web Library Databases at once.
Also look for informational websites in our Internet Resources Database.
Magazine Subscription Subject Guide
General Reference/Homework
-
CultureGrams Online
What is it? Demographic details and cultural data for regions and cultures in the world. In addition to a World edition and a Kids edition, the resource includes states and provinces editions, information about famous people, recipes, photos and videos. Also includes a pdf report for handouts or succinct reporting.
Why use it? To enhance research or a cultural experience. To prepare prior to an international trip.
-
Facts on File Science Online
What is it? Database with information relevant to students or educators of the sciences. Includes major areas (biology, chemistry, physics, computer science, earth science, environmental science, math, space and astronomy, and weather and climate) with sub-topics of specific interest. Includes diagrams and charts, experiments, videos, etc.
Why use it? Undertake an experiment to determine if your town has acid rain, research Nobel-winning scientists, or read about mankind's contribution to global warming.
-
Footnote.com
What is it? Database with digitized images of primary source documents contributed by the National Archives prior to 1775 through the 1950s post-war period.
Why use it? To support research with period documentation, search for genealogically related information, and develop a fuller perspective of historic periods.
-
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
What is it? Ebsco powered search of Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia for students and adults. Includes thousands of entries searchable by keyword, phrase, or subject.
Why use it? Information from scholarly articles can be used to supplement reports, begin the research process, or gain a general understanding.
-
GreenFILE
What is it? Ebsco powered database of 'green' journals and government documents-publications concerning the environment, recycling, global warming, sustainable energy, etc.
Why use it? Use it to locate information or compile data from publications specifically geared toward environmentalism. Check your house plans with articles on green building, and plan your summer garden with articles on organic gardening.
-
KidsSearch
What is it? Ebsco powered newspaper and magazine research database designed specifically for youth in grades K-8, includes dictionary entries, encyclopedia articles, and image database for a variety of topics.
Why use it? Write a report with magazine or newspaper citation, look on a map to see which state is shaped like a mitten, or look for a picture of a kingfisher.
-
MAS Ultra – School Edition
What is it? Ebsco database designed for high school libraries provides access to high school and adolescent-focused publications. Includes photo, map, and flag database.
Why use it? Supplement or begin a research project or compile demographic information.
-
Middle Search Plus
What is it? Ebsco database designed for middle school libraries provides access to middle school and adolescent-focused publications. Full-text access to thousands of biographies and historical essays.
Why use it? Supplement or begin a research project, compile biographical information, read an alternative historic perspective, or pore through the map, photo, and flag database.
-
Opposing Viewpoints
What is it? Database access to thousands of articles that present multiple perspectives of critical topics. Topics present information organized under viewpoints, reference, magazines, academic journals, news, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia.
Why use it? Supplement research by presenting alternative perspectives. Practice critical thinking by reading opposing viewpoints then draw your own conclusions. Study data to express your own perspective.
-
Oxford Reference Online
What is it? Access to language and subject reference works from one of the most respected and trusted reference publishers.
Why use it? Use the Visual Dictionary to look up a specific picture. Explore a timeline to track contemporaneous events. Read a subject's entire dictionary to become familiar with a particular lexicon and subject matter.
-
Primary Search
What is it? Ebsco database designed for elementary school libraries provides access primary school-focused publications. Reading level indicators included.
Why use it? Supplement or begin a research project, find a school play to perform, or pore through the map, photo, and flag database.
-
Science Fair Project Index
What is it? Online index created by the Science and Technology Division of the Akron Summit County Public Library of science projects, experiments, and demonstrations found in books published since 1990.
Why use it? Save time when you have 48 hours to develop a science fair project. Research the multiple ways a particular experiment has been performed. Search for age/grade suitable projects for your students.
-
Searchasaurus
What is it? "Kid-friendly" database with keyword or subject driven access to pictures, multi-media display, encyclopedia, magazine, or journal articles.
Why use it? Supplement your school reports, explore a particular subject area or interest, or introduce your students to database research.
-
Student Resource Center
What is it? Ebsco database access to thousands of articles organized by topic and searchable by periodical, newspaper, reports, encyclopedia article, biographies, transcripts, etc. also organized by reading level.
Why use it? Research the development of rock and roll, read biographies of celebrities, renowned individuals, and notorious fiends, or just supplement a research paper with reliable resources.
-
TOPICsearch
What is it? Access to thousands of Ebsco periodicals database, international and regional newspapers, opinion polls, pamphlets, and government resources.
Why use it? Track opinions across regions, read diverse opinions from multiple sources, or fact check for clarity and accuracy.
-
Worldbook Kids
What is it? Online encyclopedia maintained by Worldbook, Inc. with age-appropriate articles, dictionary and atlases, activities, and a pictures and sound dictionary.
Why use it? Use it to research report topics. Explore multiple professions with the "Be It" activity. Teach yourself (or someone else!) sign language.
-
Worldbook Online Spanish Version
What is it? Online encyclopedia maintained by Worldbook, Inc. Scholarly written encyclopedia articles, dictionary, atlas, and transcribed primary sources.
Enciclopedia en línea mantenida por Worldbook, Inc. Scholarly escrito artículos enciclopedia, diccionario, atlas, y transcritas las fuentes primarias.
Why use it? Use it for a cursory knowledge of a topic from reliable sources, or to access primary source transcriptions, including memoirs, presidential papers, Supreme Court cases, title declarations, essays, etc.
Utilizar para adquirir conocimientos sobre un tema que ha sido escrito por estudiosos fiable. el acceso principal fuente transcripciones, incluyendo memorias, documentos de la Presidencia, Corte Suprema de Justicia los casos, el título declaraciones, ensayos, etc.
Automotive Repair
-
Auto Repair Reference Center
What is it? An easy to use repair and diagnostic database with topics including repair procedures, service bulletins and recalls, wiring diagrams, labor, specifications, and maintenance intervals.
Why use it? To diagnose and repair automotive problems and take satisfaction in the feeling of independence and accomplishment.
-
Mitchell On Demand
What is it? Automotive research and information database that provides problem diagnosis and repair, maintenance schedule, and access to quotes for services.
Why use it? To quickly diagnose problems, determine what maintenance your vehicle needs (based on mileage), or check for overcharges on time, parts, or warranties.
Biographical Information
-
Biography Reference Bank
What is it? Database access to thousands of individuals, includes famous cultural figures and ordinary individuals whose life experiences are outlined in full-text articles.
Why use it? To read about the famous and the ordinary alike, enhance research and reports, view images of individuals, and find out facts about an individual's life.
-
Biography Resource Center
What is it? Comprehensive database with access to important information for thousands of individuals around the world and throughout time.
Why use it? In addition to searchable database, the BioRC includes additional searchable indexes and multiple search methods.
-
Explore Ohio
What is it? Links to all things Ohio, from government and state facts, to attractions and state history. Search by category or county.
Why use it? To develop an awareness of the cultural, natural, political, and economic climate of the state and learn what is in our backyards.
-
Facts on File Science Online
What is it? Database with information relevant to students or educators of the sciences. Includes major areas (biology, chemistry, physics, computer science, earth science, environmental science, math, space and astronomy, and weather and climate) with sub-topics of specific interest. Includes diagrams and charts, experiments, videos, etc.
Why use it? Undertake an experiment to determine if your town has acid rain, research Nobel-winning scientists, or read about mankind's contribution to global warming.
-
Literature Resource Center
What is it? Research database specific to literature (authors and works), includes reviews and articles, and a literary-historical timeline.
Why use it? Study the critical international and national events surrounding a writer's work, read reviews of important works, and understand the context of important works of literature.
-
Student Resource Center
What is it? Ebsco database access to thousands of articles organized by topic and searchable by periodical, newspaper, reports, encyclopedia article, biographies, transcripts, etc. also organized by reading level.
Why use it? Research the development of rock and roll, read biographies of celebrities, renowned individuals, and notorious fiends, or just supplement a research paper with reliable resources.
-
Worldbook Kids
What is it? Online encyclopedia maintained by Worldbook, Inc. with age-appropriate articles, dictionary and atlases, activities, and a pictures and sound dictionary.
Why use it? Use it to research report topics. Explore multiple professions with the "Be It" activity. Teach yourself (or someone else!) sign language.
-
Worldbook Online Spanish Version
What is it? Online encyclopedia maintained by Worldbook, Inc. Scholarly written encyclopedia articles, dictionary, atlas, and transcribed primary sources.
Enciclopedia en línea mantenida por Worldbook, Inc. Scholarly escrito artículos enciclopedia, diccionario, atlas, y transcritas las fuentes primarias.
Why use it? Use it for a cursory knowledge of a topic from reliable sources, or to access primary source transcriptions, including memoirs, presidential papers, Supreme Court cases, title declarations, essays, etc.
Utilizar para adquirir conocimientos sobre un tema que ha sido escrito por estudiosos fiable. el acceso principal fuente transcripciones, incluyendo memorias, documentos de la Presidencia, Corte Suprema de Justicia los casos, el título declaraciones, ensayos, etc.
Books and Literature
-
Literature Resource Center
What is it? Research database specific to literature (authors and works), includes reviews and articles, and a literary-historical timeline.
Why use it? Study the critical international and national events surrounding a writer's work, read reviews of important works, and understand the context of important works of literature.
-
Novelist
What is it? An on-line reader advisory database of reviews, articles, book discussion generators, and other information that assists the discriminating reader.
Why use it? Describe a plot and find books that follow said plot. Discover new writers that are stylistically similar to your favorite writer. Show up at your book discussion group with keen insights.
-
Novelist K-8
What is it? An on-line reader advisory database of reviews, articles, book discussion generators, and other information that assists the discriminating K-8 reader. Additionally, teachers can supplement their curricula with works of fiction.
Why use it? Find writers who write similarly to Stephenie Meyer. Describe a silly plot and see if any books follow such a plot (then write your own if none do). Find books by award, genre or subject (e.g. Caldecotte, Greenaway, fantasy, nature, mystery, monsters, and horses).
-
TumbleBooks
What is it? Online access to hundreds of children's ebooks-digitized or animated books, audiobooks, puzzles and games, and language learning books. Created in flash animation, which is downloadable free under the help section.
Why use it? Share new children's books wherever you have internet access, play games, and listen to favorite books. Educators have access to a wide array of educational resources and activities.
Business and Investing
-
Business Source Premier
What is it? Access to information relevant to and about businesses. Includes full-text business related articles, company and industry profiles, market reports, and country economic reports.
Why use it? To research a particular company, to fact check to stay informed about economic climates, or read professional forecasts and reflections.
-
Morningstar Investment Research Center
What is it? Research database designed to provide comprehensive information related to stocks, funds, etfs, and individual companies.
Why use it? Become a savvier investor by researching trends and growth. Compare companies, or compile a sample portfolio before you invest your money.
-
Regional Business News
What is it? Ebsco database access to articles from major business journals, wires, and newspapers from rural and metropolitan areas.
Why use it? Use to examine patterns in business across geographic locales, use to stay informed about issues affecting business in other areas, or maintain a competitive edge by staying informed about regional business concerns.
-
Standard and Poor’s NetAdvantage
What is it? Investment research database operated by Standard and Poor, a financial services company. Search Company profiles, articles, industries, mutual funds/etfs, or gain valuable investment advice from their learning center.
Why use it? Prepare early for retirement, understand trends related to your investments, and fully understand companies before you invest.
Career Information
-
Vocational and Career Collection
What is it? Ebsco database for technical and vocation-oriented libraries, the database provides access to over 350 trade and industry-focused journals.
Why use it? Follow trends in your specific trade or industry, study the critical issues affecting your vocation, research labor market demand before undertaking vocational education, research career development opportunities.
Directories
-
Foundation Directory (USE IN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? Directory of grants, grant making organizations, companies and IRS 990s of grant funding companies.
Why use it? To research prospective companies and tailor your grant application to the interests and mission of the grant making organization.
-
ReferenceUSA – Business and Residential addresses and phone numbers
What is it? Directory assistance for businesses and residences, includes address search, name search, and reverse phone search.
Why use it? Research a corporation as you search for a new job. Look up the owner of a phone number. Search for contact information for a given company.
Education
-
ERIC
What is it? Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to over a million records with thousands of full-text documents relevant to education and educators.
Why use it? Use the database to study trends in pedagogy, look for researchers with similar academic interests, or understand your teachers better.
-
Professional Development Collection
What is it? Ebsco database access to hundreds of indexed educational journals and reports, directed especially for the needs and professional development of educators and education students.
Why use it? Research the latest pedagogical methods for your field of interest, examine studies that will improve your classroom performance and communication.
Foreign Languages
-
Mango
What is it? On-line language learning tool with links to twelve language learning opportunities (including ESL lessons) and language translation tool. Interactive lessons are designed to teach communication through conversation using audio, vocabulary, and grammar exercises.
Why use it? Mejorar su comprensión de Inglés, learn Spanish or Chinese to communicate more effectively with business associates, or double-check your French homework assignment with the translator tool.
Genealogy and Local History
-
Access NewspaperARCHIVE
What is it? Access to thousands of digitized historic newspapers
Why use it? To find regionally-based primary source information, news as it was not as it was remembered.
-
Ancestry Library Edition (USE IN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? A search database to locate census, immigration, birth, marriage, death and other records that further genealogical research.
Why use it? To find out dates, locations, occupations, names, and other information that expands knowledge of an individual's (or family's) life and times.
-
Explore Ohio
What is it? Links to all things Ohio, from government and state facts, to attractions and state history. Search by category or county.
Why use it? To develop an awareness of the cultural, natural, political, and economic climate of the state and learn what is in our backyards.
-
Footnote.com
What is it? Database with digitized images of primary source documents contributed by the National Archives prior to 1775 through the 1950s post-war period.
Why use it? To support research with period documentation, search for genealogically related information, and develop a fuller perspective of historic periods.
-
Heritage Quest
What is it? Database with access to primary documents, unpublished manuscripts (census indexes, family and local histories, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Applications), and access to Freedman's Bank for African-American genealogical research.
Why use it? To find out the names, birthdates, home, and occupations of your great-great grandparents, to learn about the unique characteristics of your town, to supplement your family history.
-
Local History Database
What is it? Database access to thousands of indexed items in the Akron-Summit County Public Library's Special Collections division, includes an abundance of information related to Akron and Summit County history.
Why use it? Use the keyword search to become familiar with materials in Special Collections, research the development of the rubber industry, marble industry, or the thousands of other intriguing aspects of Akron's development.
-
New England Ancestors.org (MAIN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? Web-site created and maintained by America's oldest-and most respected-genealogical organization.
Why use it? Research the New England origins of your Western Reserve ancestors. Peruse the on-line catalog and exhibits. Access on-line seminars including "Getting started in Genealogy."
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
-
Summit Memory
What is it? 'Scrapbook' database administered by the Akron-Summit County Public Library, containing images (photographs, postcards, documents) from historic collections in Summit County Ohio.
Why use it? View the beautiful artwork of Akron's most famous naturalist, the late Joe Jesenskyy, search Ohio Civil War rosters for a lost ancestor, or examine historic photographs.
-
World Vital Records (USE IN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? Genealogy database with access to international collections and databases, founded by the creators of Ancestry.com.
Why use it? Use to develop and find additional resources for genealogical research or biographical research.
Foundations and Grant Writing
-
Foundation Directory (USE IN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? Directory of grants, grant making organizations, companies and IRS 990s of grant funding companies.
Why use it? To research prospective companies and tailor your grant application to the interests and mission of the grant making organization.
-
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (USE IN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? Online database with grant and foundation information for individuals (scholars, writers, artists, students, special needs).
Why use it? Seek answers to your FAQs, find foundations seeking proposals, or search for scholarships.
Government Documents
-
Marcive (MAIN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? Searchable catalog of United States government documents and publications-July 1976-present (updated regularly), and information regarding holdings of documentation.
Why use it? Find out which area library holds USGS topographical maps for East Akron, research government grant procedures, read the actual language of critical Constitutional Acts.
Health and Wellness
-
Alt HealthWatch
What is it? Database access to full-text articles, pamphlets, and reports (back to 1990) relevant to health and wellness.
Why use it? In order to be properly informed, ask your medical care provider appropriate questions, and be able to anticipate multiple options when making important medical decisions.
-
Health & Wellness Resource Center
What is it? Resource for information related to health and wellness, includes links to trusted sites, research database, dictionary, and health assessment section.
Why use it? Use it to calculate your body-mass index or your risk of developing diabetes, to supplement doctor's instructions or to compare drugs.
-
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
What is it? Ebsco powered access to over 500 full text journals from multiple medical disciplines. Includes access to Lexi-PAL Drug guide.
Why use it? Use it to read the most current nursing and medical articles.
-
Lexi-PALS Drug Guide
What is it? Part of the Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition database, this resource provides access to a comprehensive pharmaceutical drug guide
Why use it? Use it to check for symptoms or side effects, brand names in U.S., Canada, or Mexico, or for reasons why or why not to take a medicine.
-
MEDLINE
What is it? Ebsco database access to thousands of articles related to the medical industry.
Why use it? Use to obtain the latest information about a medical-related industry, current research, and developments. Includes information from diverse medical fields including veterinary medicine, nursing, health care system, dentistry, etc.
-
Natural Standard
 - access from home
here
What is it? Informational database with peer-reviewed, evidence-based, and consensus based articles devoted to integrative and alternative therapies. Includes links to articles, webinars, pod casts, blogs, dictionary, nutritional information, calculators, and practitioners.
Why use it? Explore alternative therapy techniques, or expand your knowledge about nutrition, diets and supplements. Stay up to date with blog posts, and download podcasts or webinars to learn more about alternative therapy.
-
NetWellness
What is it? A non-profit consumer heath web-site created and maintained by professionals at Case, Ohio State, and the University of Cincinnati and dedicated to improving the health of Ohioans and other people world-wide.
Why use it? Ask an expert if your sore elbow could be from playing tennis. Ask questions or read articles about health issues that directly affect your health and wellness. Find out how to quit smoking.
-
Teen Health and Wellness
What is it? Access to articles and FAQs centering on topics relevant to teen health and wellness.
Why use it? Complex issues, such as diseases, drugs, sex, and socializing are written in an easy to understand format. Ask Dr. Jan a question that concerns you. Take a quiz to test your health.
Home Repair
-
SAMS Photofact (USE IN LIBRARY ONLY)
What is it? Database with access to schematic drawings and manuals of consumer electronic equipment, searchable by model/chassis number.
Why use it?For the repair or maintenance of electronic equipment, compare schematic drawings with a broken electronic component, or read a manual for proper use or repair.
-
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
What is it? Ebsco database access to service manuals, schematic drawings, maintenance schedules, and articles related to the repair and maintenance of multiple small engines. Sorted by topics such as atvs, generators, marine/boat engines, outdoor power equipment, motorcycles, tractors, etc.
Why use it? Use for reference regarding cyclical maintenance or repairs, check wiring diagrams or control systems drawings, or read 'how-to' articles from trusted sources.
Legal Forms
-
Legal Forms
What is it? A searchable collection of Ohio Legal forms including personal, financial and business forms in word format.
Why use it? To download legal forms such as Power of Attorney, Rental Agreements or Dissolution of Marriage to Microsoft Word and either enter the information in a word document or print it out and fill in.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
What is it? Ebsco database access to service manuals, schematic drawings, maintenance schedules, and articles related to the repair and maintenance of multiple small engines. Sorted by topics such as atvs, generators, marine/boat engines, outdoor power equipment, motorcycles, tractors, etc.
Why use it? Use for reference regarding cyclical maintenance or repairs, check wiring diagrams or control systems drawings, or read 'how-to' articles from trusted sources.
Magazines
-
Academic Search Premier
What is it? Connect to Ebscohost database for access to scholarly and peer-reviewed full text articles and images from information providing sources.
Why use it? To find general or specific articles and information from a variety of scholarly journals and publications.
-
America's Newspapers
What is it? Indexed digital articles from local, state, and national newspapers.
Why use it? For fact-checking, information gathering, and staying informed enough to exercise your civic duties.
-
Business Source Premier
What is it? Access to information relevant to and about businesses. Includes full-text business related articles, company and industry profiles, market reports, and country economic reports.
Why use it? To research a particular company, to fact check to stay informed about economic climates, or read professional forecasts and reflections.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete
What is it? Access to articles and other peer-reviewed sources of information relevant to individuals interested in communication and mass media.
Why use it? To explore the development of the communications industry. To examine data relevant to marketing, advertising, and other avenues of communication.
-
Computer Source
What is it? Access to full-text articles about current trends, products, and research in high technology.
Why use it? To stay informed and understand relevant issues about existing and developing technology.
-
General OneFile
What is it? Database with millions of articles from thousands of periodicals across many disciplines (art, history, sports, news, politics, economics, education, health, hobbies, etc.)
Why use it? To search for articles and information across fields of interest, to supplement research, to stay updated with relevant and current news.
-
Health & Wellness Resource Center
What is it? Resource for information related to health and wellness, includes links to trusted sites, research database, dictionary, and health assessment section.
Why use it? Use it to calculate your body-mass index or your risk of developing diabetes, to supplement doctor's instructions or to compare drugs.
-
Humanities International Index
What is it? Ebsco database access to thousands of indexed articles, books, pamphlets, and other published material related to the humanities (arts, literature, classical studies, etc.)
Why use it? Study and compare scholarly articles related to the humanities, examine development of thought and expression across time and nations.
-
MasterFILE Premier
What is it? Ebsco database created for public libraries provides access to thousands of reference publications.
Why use it? Check facts efficiently with assurance that the material has been peer-reviewed and determined accurate.
-
MAS Ultra – School Edition
What is it? Ebsco database designed for high school libraries provides access to high school and adolescent-focused publications. Includes photo, map, and flag database.
Why use it? Supplement or begin a research project or compile demographic information.
-
Middle Search Plus
What is it? Ebsco database designed for middle school libraries provides access to middle school and adolescent-focused publications. Full-text access to thousands of biographies and historical essays.
Why use it? Supplement or begin a research project, compile biographical information, read an alternative historic perspective, or pore through the map, photo, and flag database.
-
Primary Search
What is it? Ebsco database designed for elementary school libraries provides access primary school-focused publications. Reading level indicators included.
Why use it? Supplement or begin a research project, find a school play to perform, or pore through the map, photo, and flag database.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
What is it? Ebsco database access to hundreds of psychology and behavioral science-focused professional journals.
Why use it? Research trends in abnormal psychiatry, study anthropological predilections toward emotional or behavioral trends, or find out what characteristics accompany psychological disorders.
-
Religion And Philosophy Collection
What is it? Ebsco database access to hundreds of journals with thousands of articles related to the scholarly study of religion and philosophy.
Why use it? Compare developments and beliefs of a myriad of denominations or world religions, study current perspectives on religious relativism, or study the ethics of a particular ideology or practice.
-
Sociological Collection
What is it? Ebsco database access to hundreds of journals with thousands of articles related to the aspects of sociology including social behavior, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Why use it? Examine patterns in sociological development, read current research in fields of sociology, research to see if a favorite hypothesis regarding human behavior is substantiated by fact.
-
Student Resource Center
What is it? Ebsco database access to thousands of articles organized by topic and searchable by periodical, newspaper, reports, encyclopedia article, biographies, transcripts, etc. also organized by reading level.
Why use it? Research the development of rock and roll, read biographies of celebrities, renowned individuals, and notorious fiends, or just supplement a research paper with reliable resources.
-
Teen Health and Wellness
What is it? Access to articles and FAQs centering on topics relevant to teen health and wellness.
Why use it? Complex issues, such as diseases, drugs, sex, and socializing are written in an easy to understand format. Ask Dr. Jan a question that concerns you. Take a quiz to test your health.
Newspapers
-
Access NewspaperARCHIVE
What is it? Access to thousands of digitized historic newspapers
Why use it? To find regionally-based primary source information, news as it was not as it was remembered.
-
Akron Beacon Journal
What is it? Indexed digital articles from the ABJ and other local, state, and national newspapers.
Why use it? For fact-checking, information gathering, and staying informed enough to exercise your civic duties.
-
America's Newspapers
What is it? Indexed digital articles from local, state, and national newspapers.
Why use it? For fact-checking, information gathering, and staying informed enough to exercise your civic duties.
-
Cleveland Plain Dealer
What is it? Indexed digital articles from the PD and other local, state, and national newspapers.
Why use it? For fact-checking, information gathering, and staying informed enough to exercise your civic duties.
-
Newspaper Source
What is it? Ebsco database with full text articles from 35 prominent national (US) and international newspapers, also radio and television transcripts.
Why use it? Use to check or track facts and opinions across the nation, to affirm an on-air interview, and generally hold the press responsible for fair and accurate reporting.
-
Regional Business News
What is it? Ebsco database access to articles from major business journals, wires, and newspapers from rural and metropolitan areas.
Why use it? Use to examine patterns in business across geographic locales, use to stay informed about issues affecting business in other areas, or maintain a competitive edge by staying informed about regional business concerns.
Science Fair
-
Facts on File Science Online
What is it? Database with information relevant to students or educators of the sciences. Includes major areas (biology, chemistry, physics, computer science, earth science, environmental science, math, space and astronomy, and weather and climate) with sub-topics of specific interest. Includes diagrams and charts, experiments, videos, etc.
Why use it? Undertake an experiment to determine if your town has acid rain, research Nobel-winning scientists, or read about mankind's contribution to global warming.
-
Science Fair Project Index
What is it? Online index created by the Science and Technology Division of the Akron Summit County Public Library of science projects, experiments, and demonstrations found in books published since 1990.
Why use it? Save time when you have 48 hours to develop a science fair project. Research the multiple ways a particular experiment has been performed. Search for age/grade suitable projects for your students.
Testing and Exams
-
Learning Express Library
What is it? An online learning center with important academic, certification, and licensing practice tests and e-books.
Why use it? Practice for the U.S. citizenship test, study for the TOEFL, or explore the examination process as you consider a new career or advancement.
|